Independent Public Schools

The creation of Independent Public Schools from 2010 is an exciting new development in Western Australian public education. These are schools where the school community has more ownership of key decisions and more flexibility to respond to student needs.

This is an important step in giving all public schools more autonomy and cutting red tape. The first Independent Public Schools will begin in 2010.

These schools will have more ownership of overall school direction, teacher selection, education programs, values/ethos and discipline, and behaviour management. Principals and staff will have more authority and freedom from central policies, procedures and compliances. However, there will be strict accountability measures in place.

Independent Public Schools will be diverse and include primary, secondary, district high and education support schools, metropolitan and regional schools, schools from low and high socioeconomic status communities and clusters of schools.

Expressions of interest closed on Monday 7 September 2009 with 104 schools putting up their hands.

The first intake of schools to start operating in 2010 was announced on Wednesday 23 September 2009.

More information is available on the Department on Educations website at schools and you or you can download the Parents and Communitieshandout.